Week 8, #1 My Mediated Writing

I truly enjoyed creating my mediated writing piece. I believe that one of the reasons I enjoyed it so much was because I was able to focus on a topic that is very important to me – access to education for those in prison. I believe that from doing this assignment I gained more of an understanding for my topic. I tried to use photos that captured what I was talking about without always directly relating to what I was actually saying. I believe that from doing this the reader is better able to feel the emotions that go along with such a serious topic. I think that people who would not have originally connected with this topic may look at this piece and have a new understanding. I do not feel that anything was lost although I was forced to summarize my topic very concisely and leave out a lot of information that was included in my original writing. By leaving out a significant amount of information I think that it brought out the points that were actually important. I began to understand my topic more personally. I put myself into the prisoners shoes who were being educated and I really connected with the direct quotes that I was reading from the prisoners in the education programs as well as the educators. I found a great video to include in my piece and I again believe that this video allowed me to connect with the stories of those in prison. I hope that this mediated writing touches those who are reading it and allows them to see that offering education to those in prison is not a lost cause but one that we should be focusing on to create change in society at large:

My Mediated Writing

#makingchange #prisoneducation

4 thoughts on “Week 8, #1 My Mediated Writing

  1. Wow! The mediated writing that you produced is very powerful! I think that you accomplished something that is very hard in something like this. You blended your pictures and words beautifully and you could tell that each was a reflection of careful planning and implementation. Did you purposefully change your technique between the Glideshow function and the, well for lack of a better term, not glideshow?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I did want to implement both the glideshow and the not glideshow portion. I thought that implementing both would make the piece more visually pleasing and I thought that for the message I was trying to get across this would work the best. Thanks so much for looking at it!

      Like

  2. I agree completely with Kevin. I think you picked an excellent topic and I could tell that you really had a passion for it. I think that the images you used were especially poignant and well used. I also really liked the video and links you added.

    Did you choose Spark over Sway for any particular reason? Did you try both and then choose one? Would you use Spark again?

    Like

    1. I chose Spark because of your project. Your project looked great and I appreciated the layout that you showed us so I thought it would work well for what I was wanting to do. I did not try Sway but since I loved Spark so much I know I will use it in the future.

      Like

Leave a comment